Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Out of The Silent Planet

Most people have heard of C.S. Lewis and The Chronicles of Narnia. However, 
what they don’t always realize is that Lewis wrote many other books as well, 
including a trilogy set in space. The Space Trilogy, as it is aptly named, follows 
a professor named Elwin Ransom in his journeys through space.
The first book, Out of the Silent Planet, shows Ransom’s rather rough 
introduction to space, when he is kidnapped and forced aboard a spaceship that 
whisks him off to Malacandra (Mars).  Upon arrival, he evades his captors and 
escapes into the beautiful, frightening, alien world, full of strange colorful landscapes
and creatures. As he travels the planet, he learns that not all is as he first thought. 
He meets bizarre aliens, learns about the origins of the universe, and realizes that 
man is not nearly quite as great as he thinks he is.
The other two books have similar themes, with Ransom facing different and greater 
evils as he travels space. However, they don’t get repetitive or boring, with Lewis 
continuing to add more detail and wonder into them. This trilogy truly shows that 
Lewis is just as skilled at writing science-fiction as he is at writing fantasy.

Friday, May 18, 2018

They Both Die at the End

This book is another book set in the future.  This future includes the fact that, the day you die, you will receive a call from Death-Cast.  Death-Cast is a company that calls everyone the day they will die, warning them.  It is a very suspenseful story, and ends on a cliffhanger.  They Both Die at the End  by Adam Silvera is a multiple character story in which all the characters overlap in their stories.
    This book starts out with the story of Mateo Torrez.  Mateo's mother died while giving birth to him, and his father is in a coma.  Mateo lives alone in his family's apartment with the neighbors checking in on him.  On the day he gets his call, Mateo downloads an app called the Last Friend App. The Last Friend App is an app where you can communicate with other people who are dying and might want to hang out and do something fun on their End Day. Mateo downloads the app...
    The second story is the story of Rufus Emeterio.  Rufus's story starts out with him beating his ex-girlfriend's new boyfriend up.  The boyfriend's name is Peck.  All of a sudden, Rufus gets his call from Death-Cast.  He calls the fight off, and then he drives to the church where he and Aimee (his ex-girlfriend) went on their first date, and he texts her. She calls him back, and he insists they need to meet up.  Aimee, Rufus's friends Tagoe and Malcolm, and his foster parents throw him a funeral.  Aimee brings Peck as well. Rufus doesn't like that, and he has a good reason not to.  Halfway through Rufus's funeral, the cops come to get Rufus because he beat Peck up.  Rufus has to go on the run. Eventually, he comes to rest at a gas station. At the gas station, Rufus sees graffiti advertising the Last Friend App.  Rufus downloads the app...
    The rest of the story is about how Rufus and Mateo meet their last friends, and have adventures with them.  There are also other sections of the story about different characters who somehow overlap with the section before it.  I think this book was very interesting.  I would recommend this book to anyone who likes suspense and stories about friendship.